Author Topic: What is ovulating?  (Read 808 times)

Offline Jloe486

• View Profile
What is ovulating?
« on: June 28, 2011, 03:35:36 pm »
What is ovulating? I saw a few comments about it but I was still confused.

Offline AmandaR0586

• View Profile
Re: What is ovulating?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2011, 04:18:59 pm »
I want to know the difference between ovulating and being fertile so I am right there with ya.

Offline Jloe486

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2011, 04:22:51 pm »
I'm new to this whole period thing so I have no idea what being fertile is either so yea I need help. :P

Offline Kay10

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2011, 01:12:10 pm »
When a woman ovulates, her ovaries release an egg and send it through the fallopian tubes. Most of the time this occurs without many signs or symptoms. If the egg is fertilized on its way through the fallopian tube to the uterus, the woman will become pregnant. If it doesn't meet a sperm and isn't fertilized, the egg will be discarded as part of the woman's normal menstrual period.
The Facts
When a female human is born, she already has all of the eggs she'll ever have. When she reaches a fertile age and begins menstruating, she releases an egg each month as part of her normal menstrual/fertility cycle. For this to happen, the pituitary gland stimulates the release of an egg from the ovaries to a fallopian tube. It is this entire process that is called ovulation. Once in the fallopian tube, the egg can be fertilized if it meets a sperm. However, the egg can only be fertilized for about 24 hours after it is released.
Misconceptions